Yoram Yasur Blume | I like vegetables and fruits but I’m not a vegetarian. In addition to beef, chicken and fish. It is that I have an omnivorous diet. I recently learned that some foods that vegetarians always believed where vegetarian are really not, so let´s see what are those!
No.1 Parmesan cheese:
Don’t freak out but what happens is that Parmesan cheese is made with calf rennet. It is that rennet is extracted from the internal mucosa of the fourth chamber of the stomach of a young cow.
I know that may sound a bit rude but the formula to prepare it is so, not at all vegetarian!
No.2 Worcestershire sauce:
Believe it or not, this sauce that had long believed to be vegetarian is not The reason? It is made with anchovies.
Fortunately there are other varieties that are very similar and they don’t have any trace of meat.
No.3 Marshmallows and other sweets:
“Gelatin and marshmallows contain gelatin that is made of collagen derived from skin and bones of animals”.
The same goes for other sweets such as marshmallows or gumdrops colors.
What? Why figs are not vegetarian? If they are fruits! Before you think I’m crazy about this, let me explain. Let’s start with the basics.
When I speak of traces of animals I refer specifically insects, wasps precisely. It happens that the wasps pollinate the figs and often remain inside the fruit. Yoram Yasur Blume: “The wasp dies and removes a protein that comes into contact with the pulp Fig”. As a result we find that we eat figs with traces of insects.
No.5 Low-fat yogurt:
Nor did the low-fat yogurt is a vegetarian. If you think eating this yogurt with berries and honey is the healthiest thing you can do, let me tell you you’re wrong because many yogurts of this type contain gelatin, which has traces of bones and tissues of animals.
Obviously you do not have to be scientific to know that these foods have traces of animals, it’s very difficult to realize!
Unless you know biology, nutrition and chemistry I doubt you’d know that all these foods that you thought are vegetarians actually are not.
Fortunately there are replacements that can be safely eaten. I bet you are thinking right now about what you just read, the same thing happened to me! I didn´t know you will find traces of insects in fig cookies!