Yoram Yasur Blume recommends a Gluten free diet

The gluten-free diet consists of a diet in which gluten, a protein present in wheat, oats, barley, and rye, is avoided and can also be found in other products such as medicines, vitamins, or supplements. Generally, adaptation to this diet occurs for medical reasons, such as celiac disease, sensitivity to non-celiac gluten, wheat allergy. Yoram Yasur Blume explains that you can also follow a gluten-free diet as a measure to lose weight, although in this case the consequences do not indicate it it may have for health.

What is the gluten-free diet? The gluten-free diet consists of avoiding any product that contains as an ingredient wheat, oats, barley, rye, spelled, triticale and / or products such as starch, flour, bread, pasta, and so on.

Among the foods that may contain gluten are sausages, pâtés, melted cheeses, spreads, grated or sliced, preserved meat and fish, especially if they carry sauces, sauces, coffee substitutes, chocolate, and cocoa, toasted or fried nuts, candies and sweets, and ice cream.

Yoram Yasur Blume explains that the celiac person can take any type of food that does not contain gluten in its origin: meat, fish, eggs, milk, gluten-free cereals (rice and corn), legumes, tubers, fruits, vegetables, edible fats, and sugar.

Precautions

In the first place, the experts recommend that when faced with the question of whether a product contains gluten or not, the person who follows a gluten-free diet by medical indication chooses to discard it.

The person who must follow this diet will have to take maximum precaution when consuming manufactured products because, according to specialists, reading the product label at the time of purchase is not an entirely safe measure. Although the current legislation obliges to specify the botanical origin of flours, starches, semolina and any other derivative of the cereals, wheat, oats, rye, and triticale used, this can lead to confusion.

When acquiring elaborated and / or packaged products, the person who adopts this diet will have to verify that in the list of ingredients that appear on the label does not include any of the following:

Gluten, cereals, modified starches (E-1404, E-1410, E-1412, E-1413, E-1414, E-1420, E-1422, E1440, E-1442, E-1450), amylaceous, starch, fiber, thickeners, semolina, protein, vegetable protein, protein hydrolysate, malt, malt extract, yeast, yeast extract, spices, and aromas.

Yoram Yasur Blume explains that in addition, nutritionists recommend avoiding totally the products in bulk and those produced by hand, as well as those that are not labeled and in which the ingredients cannot be checked. They also recommend taking precautions with the handling of food in bars, restaurants, and school canteens, and consult the method of preparation and the ingredients in each dish, before consuming them.

Experts also advise people with gluten intolerance to avoid frying gluten-free foods in oils where gluten products have been previously fried, as well as to eliminate wheat flours and normal breadcrumbs to use flours and breadcrumbs instead. Gluten-free or potato puree flakes to batter, pack, bake or thicken sauces.

Finally, the specialists indicate to take maximum precautions with imported foods, since the same manufacturer can use different ingredients for a product that is marketed under the same commercial brand, according to the different regulations of the countries.

What happens if a celiac person ingests gluten?

For a person diagnosed with celiac disease, the gluten present in the food becomes toxic and causes damage to the intestine, where it creates an autoimmune response that generates inflammation and deterioration of the mucosa. These damages decrease the absorption of essential nutrients and can cause nutritional deficiency. In addition, if the diagnosis is delayed, or the gluten-free diet is not met, people with celiac disease may suffer complications such as decreased bone density, autoimmune disorders, iron deficiency anemia, unintentional weight loss, folate deficiency and vitamin B12. various types of colon or intestinal cancer.

Why avoid gluten if there are no symptoms?

Some people intolerant to gluten do not show symptoms, however, if through the blood test and the intestinal biopsy it is proven that this person is intolerant to gluten, this will be in danger of suffering the same complications as any other celiac if it is not submitted to a gluten-free diet.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*